technimom

Digital Mom. Analog Daughter.

Old Navy Thinks My Daughter Has to be a *Ballerina* Monkey

Like a lot of moms this time of year, I’ve started looking around for potential Halloween costumes for my little girl.  I like to start on the web because it’s easy to see who carries what.  My daughter has a keen interest in sheep and tigers right now, so I was looking for something along that line.  I was pretty excited when I saw that Old navy carries Halloween costumes, and they even have a tiger no less!  My excitement turned to dismay when I saw this:

Image

Um yeah…because basic animal costumes are for boys.  Here is a snapshot of the girls’ collection:

Image

Guess girls have to be *ballerina* monkeys, if they are to be monkeys at all.  Gah!
Just to be clear, I’ve got nothing against girls dressing up as cupcakes or Snow White or even ballerina monkeys.  But I don’t see why girls can’t also dress up as tigers, sharks, or regular monkeys.  Way to keep promoting the stereotypes, Old Navy.  I expected a lot better from you.

I was annoyed enough to actually email their customer service about this.
Me:  I was looking at your Halloween costumes for girls and boys, and I have a real problem with the way they’re segregated.  All of the “boys” costumes are simple animals like a tiger, monkey, etc.  Why can these not also be “girls” costumes?  Why does the “girls” monkey have to be a ballerina version?  And why would you assume that girls want to be cupcakes but not tigers?

I got a reply which was as follows: Please know it is never our intention to upset or frustrate our customers in anyway. We do our best to offer our customers top quality, fashionable merchandise at a fair price, and we regret disappointing you.  Blah blah blah…

I didn’t think it was their intention.  I’m sure this was purely unintentional, but what I’m asking them to do here is think a little bit.  Maybe there could just be a generic “Halloween costume” section for kids?

When I was a kid, I think there was one year when I dressed as a princess for Halloween.  But in other years I went as a tiger, a witch, a gift box (yeah that looked as funny as it sounds), etc.  I don’t know if I’m just old and times have changed or what.  All I know is that my daughter loves tigers and leopards and sheep, so that’s what she’s going to be for Halloween.  Even if that means she gets a costume from the boys’ section.

One response to “Old Navy Thinks My Daughter Has to be a *Ballerina* Monkey

  1. D.travis October 31, 2012 at 5:50 PM

    Why is your only concern that they only have animal costumes in the boys section (there’s nothing saying you can’t buy them for a girl) and would you be just as upset if your son wanted to be a monkey ballerina or a cupcake but they only have them in the girls section…. Would you have still emailed the company or looked at your son and told him to pick something else? Seems like a silly reason to email a company and get upset over when they just have the costumes in each “section” to give you an idea…..

Leave a Reply

